ThriftyNut

Survival Tips for One-Income Households

Fun Taco Cups, Kid Tested, Mother Approved.

on August 1, 2012

Wow has this summer been busy!  I am still doing projects here and there, but I am basically focusing on having a ton of fun while my kids are off of school and potty training a 3 year old, lol.  Hope everyone’s summer is just as fun!

I decided to give THIS recipe a try because I had leftover taco meat and was tired of the same ol’ tacos we always eat.  Not only that, but sometimes your children get bored too!  So I decided to change it up a little to see if I could trick them to eat more!  he he he  Let me tell you… Happy kids makes a happy mommy.  So here it is.

FUN TACO CUPS

Preheat oven to 400° F.

Using a pizza cutter, cut a tortilla shell in half twice, giving you four pieces.


**Fold into each muffin cup until it sits nicely.  Some might fight you.  I see (after I tried this, of course) that I could have flipped the pan over and used the bottom to get the cups (going in between the cups-negative space for those artist people-to get the diamond shape)… try it and tell me if it works!



Spritz or Spray (whatever your preference) with Olive Oil.
Throw in the oven for about 3 minutes to get a little crisp.
Fill with all the hot toppings you like… (cheese, meat, refried beans, more cheese)

Put back in oven until cheese melts (probably 4  min)

Take it out and add cold toppings (lettuce, tomato, sour cream)!  It is that easy!

Serve with Salsa (or if you are like me, ketchup, mmmmm)

I was watching 3 other kids the night I tried this.  So a total of 5 kids gobbled them up with great big smiles on their faces! Totally satisfied mommy!

For a printable copy (copy and paste this into a word document)

FUN TACO CUPS

Preheat oven to 400° F.  
Using a pizza cutter, cut a tortilla shell in half twice, giving you four pieces.  
Fold into each muffin cup until it sits nicely.  Some might fight you.
Spritz or Spray (whatever your preference) with Olive Oil.  
Throw in the oven for about 3 minutes to get a little crisp.  
Fill with all the hot toppings you like… (cheese, meat, refried beans, more cheese)
Put back in oven until cheese melts (probably 4  min)
Take it out and add cold toppings (lettuce, tomato, sour cream)!  It is that easy!
Serve with Salsa (or if you are like me, ketchup, mmmmm)

2 responses to “Fun Taco Cups, Kid Tested, Mother Approved.

  1. thebeadden says:

    What a nice change, thanks!

  2. jayne Carle says:

    What an amazing idea, would make great canapes too for biggies!!! LOve it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

