ThriftyNut

Survival Tips for One-Income Households

DIY Almond Milk

on May 7, 2012

I can honestly say, I have never tried almond milk from the store…  I decided to try this recipe for 2 reasons.  It looked fun and I just know how unbelievably expensive alternative milks are.  Of course, my inspiration came straight from Jillee!  LOVE HER, by the way.

Vegetarians in Paradise has a ton of information on Almonds and it’s benefits.  Almonds are high in protein, calcium, fiber, vitamin E and magnesium.  It’s powerful antioxidants are considered high in cancer fighting properties.  Most of the fat in almonds is mono-unsaturated and considered beneficial fat.  They also contain potassium, iron, zinc, copper, manganese, and trace amounts of the B vitamins, thiamin and riboflavin.

Good thing I looked up this information!  That gives this project the added nudge to do it again and again!

I will have to say though… Feedback from the kids and husband was NOT good.  I heard a lot of “What is that??” and gagging and “don’t ever give that to me again” from the husband who I caught off guard when I said “Try this”!!!

Well, I still think that you should try it in some smoothies or green drinks where you can still get the benefits of all the nutrients but not taste it.  Personally, it was not that bad for my taste because I made it myself and knew (kind of) what to expect.

Here is what I did!  Easy Peasy!  (what does that even mean? lol)

Take 1 cup of almonds and soak overnight in a bowl.  I put them on a shelf in a cupboard to keep my crazy home full of kids, husband and animals out of it.  :)
 

Then they will be plump in the morning!  See?  Just dump out the water, it will be gross looking.

I rinsed them at this point because I like to be sure they are clean.  Put them in a blender with 3-4 cups clean purified water.

See how dirty the water is still?  Probably could have rinsed them longer, but oh well!  Blend on HIGH until it looks like it is pretty smooth.  You will still see little specks in the milk.

Now for straining… I went out to buy potato sack bags in the kitchen section for the next batch which I can’t wait to make!   I tried using a strainer and it was so thick that it did not drain that fast… See first photo…  So, I tried a coffee filter… lol  DID NOT WORK.   NO NEED FOR A PHOTO!!!!  I only had a really really tiny cotton cloth that I used in the 2nd photo… It worked, but it was a struggle to make sure it didn’t pour out the sides.  I wish I had a bigger piece of linen to squeeze more at one time.  The 3rd photo shows the almond meal… Save that, I will tell you what to do with it at the end.

When you are done squeezing the milk out.  Taste the milk and don’t gag because this stuff is like gold.  To help the taste, add a pinch of Salt, and 2 tsp of Honey… I would add more honey, for sure.

You could add this in your coffee (not sure I would because I am particular to my creamer).  You could add chocolate (that just might do the trick!) or add to your smoothies!

NOW for the Almond Meal… Here is what 1 cup of almonds made…

Just preheat your oven to 350 degrees.  Put in in for 15  min and then mix, break down chunks and check every 5 min after that, for crispiness.  You will see it brown on the sides.  I took my slotted spatula and swished it side to side to break up the chunks.  It did a great job.  You will feel how tacky (damp) it is still… just put it in a while longer.

I used mine to top my salads with… You could also throw it in your smoothies, add it to yogurt… The possibilities are endless.  I LOVE it on my salads.  Freeze any leftovers.

That’s it for now!  I hope you liked this post!  It was fun and now that I have my potato sack bags, I am even more excited to try this again!!!!


2 responses to “DIY Almond Milk

  1. myla says:

    I made this almond milk it is sooo..easy and yummy. will be making it all the time for myself and my daughter.

  2. Cris Peffers says:

    With so many more people developing allergies and sensitivities to dairy products, finding tasty and cheap alternatives to milk can be a challenge. One tasty alternative that can be used in cooking and everyday use is almond milk. But honestly, almond milk can get pricey. Instead try making your own almond milk for a quick and easy project that is fun to do with the kids.;

    Our web portal
    <http://www.foodsupplementdigest.com/ginseng-side-effects/

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

