ThriftyNut

Survival Tips for One-Income Households

Easy Way to Pickle! Why didn’t I think of this sooner!

on March 26, 2012

I used to work for The Fireside in Fort Atkinson, WI a long time ago and they used to have pickled brussle sprouts that I just could not stop eating… shhhh  lol  I craved them for many years and looked for them periodically to see if they carried them.  I craved them so badly that I came up with this idea.  AND GUESS WHAT???   IT WORKED!!!!

Just before you are about to run out of pickles, go ahead and buy fresh organic Brussel Sprouts (they are the best!!!).  You can get them pretty cheap at the Farmer’s Market in the summer months!

Your pickle jar can be purchased at Walmart in the “Family sized” section.  Believe it or not, it is actually pretty close to the same price as the small jar, but you get an enormous size pickle jar… Plus, the jars are great (once you kill the pickle smell in them, lol) for reuse as a coin jar, storage jar, etc… possibilities are endless!

So, you eat your leftover pickles from the jar for lunch while you boil your brussel sprouts until they are soft (mine took about 10 min)…

When they are soft enough for a fork to slide through, they are done.  Strain them out and run cold water on top of them.

mmmmm, they look so good!  Half really could be eaten for dinner if you would like… They are great with just butter and sea salt on them.  I ate one and put the rest inside my pickle jar.

 

There is actually a pickle in it still… I couldn’t eat them all up that fast.  That’s ok, though!  It will all taste like pickles soon!  Just refrigerate and pop them in your mouth when ever you want!  If you are serving for a party, they actually taste even better the next day once it marinates a little more.

There you have it!  You could try all sorts of pickled items this way without having to be a chef!

Hope you like my tip for the day!

3 responses to “Easy Way to Pickle! Why didn’t I think of this sooner!

  1. Yum, that actually sounds pretty good! I used to sliced put cucumbers in my leftover Claussen pickle jars, until I found a great recipe for homemade style fermented pickles, like the Claussen brand. SO GOOD! Thanks for sharing your idea about the brussel sprouts!
    Beth

  2. Opps, I meant “put sliced cucumbers”. MY bad!

  3. [...] Easy Way to Pickle! Why didn’t I think of this sooner! (thriftynut.wordpress.com) [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

