ThriftyNut

Survival Tips for One-Income Households

Diaper Trike, Oil Paintings, Chalk Drawings, Sewing Projects, Crocheting!

on March 25, 2012

Here are some things I have done to help cure my creative insanity.  I am always looking for new ways to do things.  My creative side will never sleep.  lol

My husband thinks I am crazy because I never stick to one thing.  lol  Kinda the fun of it all, I am never bored.  And now that I have Pinterest, omgosh.

So, here are some of my ideas I love to show off.  Let me know what you think!

Here was a baby shower gift for a friend of mine.  I had so much fun researching and buying and making this.  Seriously, my husband has some patience with me.  lol  There are many different ways to do diaper gifts…. Diaper cakes, diaper trikes, diaper strollers… Have fun with it.  It is WAY more fun to give and see peoples reaction to it.  He He…   If you want to purchase one of these for a future baby shower, let me know and I can whip one up for you!

LOL, now this one is silly, I know… I made up the pattern as I went.  My child begged and begged me to buy a $5 penguin from the store with these really big eyes… Here is a photo of it…

I just couldn’t spend that much on a 6″ stuffed animal, so I made him one, lol  I am so cheap sometimes…  The funny part, he walked around the house with that for days so happy!  It was made with love, for sure!  He will kill me when he gets older… Here is another example of my son so happy to get something I made…

Now these were worth saving money on!  I bought 2 pillows for $3/each, a black fuzzy blanket (on sale of course), an off-white fuzzy blanket and a really fuzzy red blanket… They came to about $5/each at the time.  They always have them on sale around Christmas time.

I was able to make 2 Pillow Pets for the price of one!

Not only did my son love his pillow pet, but because mom made it for him, the anticipation built up with excitement when he saw the project coming together.

It was a really happy Christmas for him.

Now for the 2nd Pillow Pet…

Isn’t this the cutest thing EVER???  Seriously one of a kind.  I have not seen these in stores yet…  I don’t have a pattern and I know I did his nose too big, but it definitely looks like Elmo!  Most importantly, my littlest one LOVES it.  I also had fun seeing it all come together.

Why pay $20 for a pillow????!!!!  The actual pillow is the easy part to sew and figure out… Why not try to make your own?

I would love to try the Happy Nappers, but after these two projects, I am sick of sewing, lol

I also oil paint.  lol  This is actually something I have done for a while now.  Some paintings I like some I hate.  Here are some that I love!

Here is the original phtograph of my son… so cute, isn’t he?

Here is my finished oil painting of my son.  By far my best work, I think.

Here is another couple of paintings that I did for a friend of mine.

Here is the original photo of my parents.

Here is a chalk drawing of my parents that I did.

I guess I really do a lot of different things.  lol  But I love it… I will continue to share more when I dig them up.  Art is very therapeutic as long as your kid isn’t screaming in your ear, touching all of your projects, screaming for paper to draw, wanting to help, etc… That is why nap time comes in handy.  I will be very glad once I get more time when he starts school in the Fall!

These items that I showed you are very personal to me.  Please do not copy or reproduce these as your own.

 If you see something here that you would like to hire me to do for you, let me know.  I am very reasonably priced.  I even draw tattoos for people (don’t mistake that for actually tattooing)  lol…

One response to “Diaper Trike, Oil Paintings, Chalk Drawings, Sewing Projects, Crocheting!

  1. carrie says:

    Go ahead!! Post your tatoo work!!! :-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

