ThriftyNut

Survival Tips for One-Income Households

Natural DIY Nail Whitener

on March 20, 2012

Ok, so I have been waiting for the chance to try this… I found this pin on Pinterest and wanting to see for myself if it worked or not.

Let’s see if this works though… HERE is where I found the original post.  Now, the photo looks like a professional acrylic nail job that sounded too good to be true, but in a way seemed like it might just work…

Lately, I have been trying to find a different way to polish my nails since my mom passed away from cancer 5 months ago.  So, you could imagine how excited I was to find this.

Here is what was written below the photo… There was no link to a website, just a photo…

should try this. // want white nails? use this at home recipe: 1 Tbs peroxide 2.2 Tbs baking soda Let this paste sit on your nails for 5 minutes and voila! white nails! I’ve been looking for this for soo long!

I am not sure what 2.2 Tbs of baking soda is, so, I did a little more than 2 Tbs…  lol   

Well, here are my photos of actually trying it…  Can you just imagine how excited I am?  lol

Now, for the results…  See for yourself….

….

….

….

….

….

….

….

….

….

A whole lot of nothing… I would consider this to be a Pinterest FAIL… So, HERE is what I did because I don’t need to waste that wonderful mixture because my fingers touched it.  AH HA HA


5 responses to “Natural DIY Nail Whitener

  1. [...] Tips for One-Income Households « Natural DIY Nail Whitener Mar [...]

  2. Samantha says:

    Uhm, the point of that type of mixture is to help yellow or stained nails return to a natural color. It’s not going to make your nails all white, lol. The ingredients work for what the goal of the mixture was, I’ve tried it. So no fail here :)

  3. ThriftyNut says:

    Yes, I realize that… And I did try it on my toes too and it worked just a little… But according to the original post on Pinterest… Here… https://pinterest.com/pin/284008320220944034/ … It led me to believe that it was going to WHITEN so beautifully like the photo shows… Uhm, no, not like the photo AT ALL. lol So, the reason I posted this is so that others don’t get the wrong impression as I did. It was definitely disappointing and misleading. So I still say fail. lol

    • ThriftyNut says:

      AND it looks like she was whitening on top of an already painted french manicure! Seriously, why would she do that? So people would try it! Like me! Yes, I am a sucker to believe the photo was her REAL nails… that is why I tested it.

  4. Erin says:

    I didn’t think this worked either (mine varied slightly, I added water) and I was bummed! But later on during the day I did notice a change in the whiteness! Definitely better than before.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

